Forward thinking….

So I’ve been very busy lately and haven’t had a lot of time to post, a few things have happened over the last few months that have got me thinking about how we, as human beings, deal with a lot of various situations.

One thing I hand on heart believe is that:

“Things do not change, we change.” —Henry David Thoreau

We are a product of our thoughts, actions, reactions, ways and everything we do in life. This makes us who we are… but what happens when you get a little lost.

I have experienced a few very testing things over the last 6 months of my life and I have done and said things to people I am not proud of. This is something in retrospect I know isn’t me, however, I let myself be a person I wasn’t proud of because of other peoples inner trials.

When you think about moving forward remember… this is just a small slice of your life. So the pain, may it be very real and present to you at the time, it will not always be.

Another life lesson that I stand by is that “a problem will keep repeating itself until the lesson is learnt”. Whatever personal lesson that might be.

Life is life. We will always have trials, pain and suffering but what we must remember in these low moments is that we will also always have happiness, love and warmth. So next time you feel low or are feeling slightly lost, pick up a pen and write a list of 5 things that are good in your life. Count your blessings, not your sorrows, because with and open heart and an open mind you will attract happy people into your life. If you train yourself to consistently be more loving in thoughts and actions, your energy will attract more positive people and positive results. As Albert Einstein said, “You can’t solve a problem by staying in the same energy in which it was created.”

As for myself, I have had someone constantly pulling me in a downwards direction for a long time and it took me getting to breaking point to realise that sometimes people are only meant to be in your life to teach you something and not to necessarily stay for the rise. However, when someone hurts you in a way where you feel you need revenge and feel resentment.
Keep in mind a fabulous Carrie Fisher quote: “Resentment is the poison you swallow hoping the other person will die.” Recognize that when you resent someone, you are not only hurting yourself, you’re also giving this person control of your emotions.

Stop allowing someone else so much control over your life. Take a few deep breaths and remember that you are in control of your happiness… you and only you. You decide who you let in and who you don’t.

Just remember you are right where you are suppose to be, many Buddhists consider huge difficulties to be a sign you’re an old soul—the bigger your misfortunes, the closer you are to enlightenment. Whether you believe this or not, it’s certainly cheery to reframe all your life’s bad events as tests of your character. If you feel particularly tested right now, ask yourself what the heck you’re being tested for! Patience? Compassion? Resilience? Forgiveness? Open-mindedness? What strengths must you develop further? Now consciously go out there and develop them!

Because of course “The best is yet to come.” —Frank Sinatra

20140729-194951-71391592.jpg

Standard

Leave a comment